How much is a fishing license in North Carolina?

Fishing licenses in North Carolina can range from about $6.00 for a Resident Coastal 10-Day fishing license to over $500.00 for a Non Resident Adult Lifetime Coastal fishing license. Take a look below for all the resident and non resident fishing licenses and prices.




PRICES DISCLOSURE: We do our best to stay current, but prices can change without notice to us. The prices below may or may not be the exact current prices for the license(s) listed.

How much does a fishing license cost in North Carolina?

North Carolina Resident Annual Inland Fishing License:

$25.00  BUY NOW

North Carolina Resident 10-Day Inland Fishing License:

$9.00   BUY NOW

North Carolina Resident Annual Unified Inland/Coastal Fishing License: Includes the privileges of fishing in Public Mountain Trout Waters, fishing in trout waters on game lands, and fishing in joint waters.

$41.00  BUY NOW

North Carolina Resident Annual Subsistence Unified Inland/Coastal Fishing License: For residents who receive Medicaid, Food Stamps, or Work First Family Assistance through the county Department of Social Services

FREE  BUY NOW

North Carolina Resident Annual Special Device Inland Fishing License: License for taking of non-game fishes from inland waters with during designated seasons with seines, cast nets, gill nets, dip nets, bow nets, reels, gigs, spear guns, baskets, fish pots, eel pots, traps, and hand-crank electrofishers where authorized by local law. 

$80.00  BUY NOW

North Carolina Resident Lifetime Comprehensive Inland Fishing License: 

$265.00  BUY NOW

North Carolina Resident Senior Inland Lifetime Fishing License: 

$16.00  BUY NOW

North Carolina Resident Lifetime Unified Inland/Coastal Fishing License: Includes the privileges of fishing in Public Mountain Trout Waters, fishing in trout waters on game lands, and fishing in joint waters.

$477.00  BUY NOW

North Carolina Resident Disabled Veteran Inland Fishing License: Residents who are 50 percent or more disabled veterans as determined by the Department of Veterans Affairs.

$11.00   BUY NOW

North Carolina Resident Totally Disabled Inland Fishing License: Residents who are totally and permanently disabled as determined by the Social Security Administration, Civil Service Retirement System, Railroad Retirement Board, or the N.C. State Retirement System.

$11.00  BUY NOW

North Carolina Resident Legally Blind Unified Inland/Coastal Fishing License: Residents who have been certified by the Department of Health and Human Services as being legally blind.

FREE  GET NOW

North Carolina Resident Adult Care Home Unified Inland/Coastal Fishing License: Residents of an adult care home.

FREE  GET NOW

How much is a coastal fishing license in North Carolina?

North Carolina Resident Annual Coastal Fishing License:

$16.00   BUY NOW

North Carolina Resident 10-Day Coastal Fishing License:

$6.00  BUY NOW

North Carolina Resident Senior Coastal Lifetime Fishing License: 

$16.00  BUY NOW

North Carolina Resident Adult Lifetime Coastal Fishing License | Ages 12 and Older:

$265.00  BUY NOW

North Carolina Resident Youth Lifetime Coastal Fishing License | Ages 1 – 11:

$159.00  BUY NOW

North Carolina Resident Infant Lifetime Coastal Fishing License | Under 1 yr old:

$106.00  BUY NOW

North Carolina Resident Disabled Veteran Coastal Fishing License: Residents who are 50 percent or more disabled veterans as determined by the Department of Veterans Affairs.

$11.00  BUY NOW

North Carolina Resident Totally Disabled Coastal Fishing License: Residents who are totally and permanently disabled as determined by the Social Security Administration, Civil Service Retirement System, Railroad Retirement Board, or the N.C. State Retirement System.

$11.00  BUY NOW




How much is a non resident fishing license in North Carolina?

North Carolina Non Resident Annual Inland Fishing License: 

$45.00  BUY NOW

North Carolina Non Resident 10-Day Inland License:

$23.00  BUY NOW

North Carolina Non Resident Annual Special Device Inland Fishing License: License for taking of non-game fishes from inland waters with during designated seasons with seines, cast nets, gill nets, dip nets, bow nets, reels, gigs, spear guns, baskets, fish pots, eel pots, traps, and hand-crank electrofishers where authorized by local law. 

$530.00  BUY NOW

How much is a non resident coastal fishing license in North Carolina?

North Carolina Non Resident Annual Coastal License:

$32.00  BUY NOW

North Carolina Non Resident 10-Day Coastal License:

$11.00  BUY NOW

North Carolina Non Resident Adult Lifetime Coastal Fishing License | Ages 12 and Older:

$530.00  BUY NOW

North Carolina Non Resident Youth Lifetime Coastal Fishing License | Ages 1 – 11:

$159.00  BUY NOW

North Carolina Non Resident Infant Lifetime Coastal Fishing License | Under 1 yr old:

$106.00  BUY NOW

Where can I buy a fishing license?

Phone: (888) 248-6834

Here are some of the best places to fish in North Carolina.

All information listed above can also be seen on the fishing license page of the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission website.

Frequently Asked Questions

Question: At what age does North Carolina require anglers to possess a valid fishing license?

Answer: North Carolina requires anglers 16  years of age and older to possess a valid fishing license or trout privilege license to fish in North Carolina.

Question: I own property with a pond in North Carolina. Do I need a license to fish it?

Answer: A landowner or person leasing land primarily for cultivation, their spouse, and dependents under 18 residing with them, may hunt, trap and fish on such land without a license in North Carolina.

Question: When do I become eligible to purchase a senior lifetime license?

Answer: Senior License Eligibility: Residents born on or before Aug. 1, 1953 are eligible to purchase a senior lifetime license when they turn 65 years of age. Those born after Aug. 1, 1953 are eligible to purchase a senior lifetime license when they turn 70 years of age.

Question: Do annual fishing licenses expire at the end of each year in North Carolina?

Answer: No. Annual fishing licenses in North Carolina expire a full year (365 days) from date-of-purchase.

Question: Are there any free fishing days in North Carolina when a fishing license is not required?

Answer: Yes. The FREE fishing day in North Carolina is July 4 each year.